Early-Season Schedule Dictates Camp Schedule
Jeff Hanisch/US Presswire
Jeff Hanisch/US Presswire
packwriter2002@yahoo.com
Posted Jun 14, 2012


Coach Mike McCarthy has his players' body clocks in mind in laying out his training camp schedule. Players will report on Wednesday, July 25, with the first practice on Thursday, July 26. After considering the elimination of night practices, McCarthy has six workouts set for 7 p.m.

To reflect the scheduling roller coaster that is the start of the regular season, coach Mike McCarthy has put together a roller coaster of a training camp schedule for the Green Bay Packers.

Training camp begins on Thursday, July 26, with a week of practices that begin at 8:15 a.m. That’s followed by a stretch of seven night practices, including the Family Night Scrimmage on Friday, Aug. 3. The final six practices of training camp will start at 11 a.m. or 11:15 a.m.

Why the tinkering of the players’ body clocks? Because the Packers’ first five games start at 3:15 p.m., 7:20 p.m., 7:30 p.m., 3:15 p.m., noon and 7:20 p.m. before a stretch of noon games.

“My initial plan for training camp was not quite what it ended up being,” McCarthy, who had considered eliminating night practices, said following Thursday’s final minicamp practice. “There was a reaction to the scheduling, to the format of training camp, based on the way our first four games of the regular season laid out.”

The Packers open at home against San Francisco on a Sunday and host Chicago on a Thursday night. Then it’s a long week before a Monday night game at Seattle before a Sunday afternoon against New Orleans.

“The fact that we come out of the gate and play Sunday afternoon on national TV at home, then play Thursday night at home and then go away 11 days later on a Monday night, and then on a short week here at home, I wanted to make sure our players were challenged from the fact of the regularity is going to be a little up and down to start the season,” McCarthy said.

“Then we end up playing every seven days after that. I wanted that reflected in the training camp, so that was part of the reason why we went with morning practice, night practice and afternoon practices. ... I feel like this schedule of training camp really gives us the chance to get ready for the beginning of the season and also get ready for the seven-day stretch that we’ll have after the fourth game.

2012 TRAINING CAMP SCHEDULE

Thur., July 26: 8:15 a.m. (shells)

Fri., July 27: 8:15 a.m. (shells)

Sat. July 28: 8:15 a.m. (full pads)

Sun., July 29: No practice

Mon., July 30: 8:15 a.m. (full pads)

Tue., July 31: 8:15 a.m. (full pads)

Wed., Aug. 1: 8:15 a.m. (full pads)

Thur., Aug. 2: 7 p.m. (full pads)


Fri., Aug. 3: Family Night Scrimmage (6:30 p.m.)


Sat., Aug. 4: No practice

Sun., Aug. 5: 7 p.m. (full pads)

Mon., Aug. 6: 7 p.m. (full pads)

Tue., Aug. 7: 3:30 p.m. (full pads)

Wed., Aug. 8: No practice


Thur., Aug. 9: Preseason game at San Diego Chargers (7 p.m.)


Fri., Aug. 10: No practice

Sat. Aug. 11: 7 p.m. (full pads)

Sun., Aug. 12: 7 p.m. (full pads)

Mon., Aug. 13: 7 p.m. (full pads)

Tue., Aug. 14: 3:30 p.m. (full pads)

Wed., Aug. 15: No practice


Thur., Aug. 16: Preseason game vs. Cleveland Browns (7 p.m.)


Fri., Aug. 17: No practice

Sat., Aug. 18: No practice

Sun., Aug. 19: 11:15 a.m. (full pads)

Mon., Aug. 20: 11:15 a.m. (full pads)

Tue., Aug. 21: 11 a.m. (helmets)

Wed., Aug. 22: No practice


Thur., Aug. 23: Preseason game at Cincinnati Bengals (6 p.m.)


Fri., Aug. 24: No practice

Sat., Aug. 25: No practice

Sun., Aug. 26: 11:15 a.m. (full pads)

Mon., Aug. 27: 11:15 a.m. (full pads)

Tue., Aug. 28: 11 a.m. (helmets)

Wed., Aug. 29: No practice


Thur., Aug. 30: Preseason game vs. Kansas City Chiefs (6 p.m.)



Agree or disagree?: Discuss hot Packers topics in our, free forums. Leave Bill a question in the subscribers-only Packers Pro Club forum.


Bill Huber is publisher of Packer Report magazine and PackerReport.com and has written for Packer Report since 1997. E-mail him at packwriter2002@yahoo.com, or leave him a question in Packer Report’s subscribers-only Packers Pro Club forum. Find Bill on Twitter at twitter.com/PackerReport.


Related Stories
Rodgers Tutors Backup Harrell
 -by PackerReport.com  Jun 14, 2012
He Can Hit You in the Face and Make You Miss
 -by PackerReport.com  Jun 14, 2012
Mix-and-Match Staff Meshes Well
 -by PackerReport.com  Jun 13, 2012

MAGAZINE COVERAGE
Subscribe today and get a full year of Packer Report Magazine with an annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from PackerReport.com. Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Green Bay
[View My HotList]