Spotlight on Canton, Packers

Spotlight on Canton, Packers

When former Packer receiver James Lofton is inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame today, it will be the centerpiece of an entire weekend celebration that prominently features the Green Bay Packers.<P>

Lofton joins Marcus Allen, Hank Stram, Elvin Bethea and Joe DeLamielleure in the hall's class of 2003. He also joins a long list of Packers on hand for the NFL Homecoming.

All 144 living members of the Hall of Fame were invited back for the homecoming, marking only the second time the all-Hall celebration has been held. Packer greats on the attendees list include Bart Starr, Paul Hornung and several others.

The Packers even had a hand in the timing of the ceremony. The induction will be held on a Sunday for the first time to accommodate Green Bay's date with Kansas City in the annual Hall of Fame game Monday night.

Packer fans won't be the only ones celebrating Lofton's induction, however. Lofton spent time with the Raiders and Bills during his 16-year career during which he compiled 14,004 yards receiving and 18.3 yards per catch.

The induction ceremony will be televised live on ESPN, beginning at 2 p.m. Eastern, 1 p.m. Central. The game is set for 8 p.m. Eastern, 7 p.m. Central, on ABC's Monday Night Football.

PackerReport.com Recommended Stories


Up Next


Tweets