Scout Premium Content

Quarterbacks Rule Playoff Roost

Rodgers (Andrew Weber - USA Today Sports)

Trent Dilfer and Brad Johnson are the exceptions. Historically, it takes a Hall of Fame-worthy quarterback to win the Super Bowl. That limits the field as the divisional round kicks off on Saturday. We look at the matchups, including the on-paper mismatch of Aaron Rodgers vs. Colin Kaepernick.

The NFL is driven by the quarterbacks. Of the first 16 Super Bowl champions, only two were guided by a quarterback not in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The last 20 Super Bowls were won by a who's-who list of modern quarterbacks: Troy Aikman (three), Tom Brady (three), John Elway (two), Ben Roethlisberger (two), Eli Manning (two), Brett Favre, Steve Young, Kurt Warner, Peyton Manning, Drew... Recommended Stories

  • It took seven games but the YAC-producing, tackle-breaking Randall Cobb returned on Sunday against Carolina (Mike McGinnis/Getty Images)

  • With a depleted supporting cast of proven playmakers, Aaron Rodgers might be having his best season. Nonetheless, Rodgers' brilliant numbers haven't exactly dropped the jaws of anyone in the Packers'…

  • One week at a time, Green Bay's defense has been turning its weaknesses into strengths. With Week 7 almost in the books, the Packers rank 10th in points and tied for eighth in yards per play, and sore…

  • Dr. Roto believes Miami Dolphins WR Jarvis Landry will overtake WR Brian Hartline as the team's No. 2 receiver sooner rather than later. Stay ahead of the curve with Dr. Roto!

  • The San Francisco Giants came out swinging in Game One of the 2014 World Series, scoring three times in the first inning and never looking back.

Up Next